The Natural Place to Stay
There is a special wilderness area, encircled by the Erongo Mountains,where the desert, mountain, and bushveld ecosystems combine. Here, in a secluded valley, you will find the Erongo Wilderness Lodge in a dramatic setting of granite boulders and breathtaking views.
Raised wooden walkways and natural stone steps connect the chalets to the main area of the Erongo Wilderness Lodge, where the restaurant, lounge, swimming pool and sundowner deck invite you to relax and fully unwind. The open-plan lounge and restaurant overlooks a floodlit waterhole, and is warmed by a central fireplace in the winter.
Delicious and original meals, freshly baked breads and pastries, and sumptuous breakfasts, are all complemented by the spectacular setting. The Erongo Wilderness Lodge chalets, raised on stilts, are in harmony with their surroundings,with broad, shaded decks, and indulgent bathrooms built around the existing rocks and trees. Inside, each spacious tent is a haven of thoughtful comfort and casual luxury.
Nature provides the compelling reasons for visiting this unique environment at the Erongo Wilderness Lodge. Many rare, endemic, and special species of animal, bird, and plant life thrive here, making this one of Namibia’s most diverse and wildlife-rich areas. This wealth of natural and cultural history can be enjoyed by joining a guided nature drive, visiting one of the Bushman rock art sites, or walking among the mountains with one of our knowledgeable guides. Or make the experience a more personal one by simply exploring on your own, or just soaking up the atmosphere from the private deck of your tent.
luxuriate in this richness of nature
Children and extra beds
Cancellation / Prepayment
- Air Condition
- Outdoor pool
- Private bathroom
We are sorry, there are no reviews yet for this accommodation.
Small town Omaruru is located 50 km from town Karibib and 230 km from Windhoek, the capital of the country. Set in the heart of game-farm area the town is surrounded by array of mountains with the most prominent, the Oruwe, located southeast of town. Kristall Kellerei, the only winery in the country, is located in Omaruru. The name Omaruru is derived from Herero omaere omaruru meaning “bitter curd” which is apparently how the cattle’s milk tested after eating particular bush growing in the area around tow. The first European to reach the area was Hugo Hahn, the missionary who visited it in 1851. In 1868 Herero Chief Zeraua settled in Omaruru although “officially” the town was founded only in 1870 with an arrival of another missionary, Gottlieb Viehe. Famous explorer Charles Anderson, being attracted by plentiful game in the area, established a hunting camp on the banks of Omaruru River in 1858. In 1870, the hunter Axel Eriksson and brewer Anders Ohissen formed a partnership to exploit the game and by 1880 they had succeeded in wiping out all the elephant, rhino, lion and giraffe once living in the area. in 1880s Omaruru was repeatedly attacked in Herero-Nama wars before peace was secured in 1889. The German garrison was stationed here in 1894, the town began to grow since then. The first postal office was opened in 1895. The garrison moved to a new fort, today’s magistrate’s court. By the end of 1896 Omaruru had the largest population of European settlers in Namibia. The town was besieged in 1904 during the Herero uprising. The military commander at the time, Captain Franke, was away in the south helping to put down the Bondelswart uprising. He marched 900 km in 20 days and broke the siege by leading a cavalry charge and defeating Hereros. Franke’s Tower was built in 1907 to commemorate the event. Omaruru received full municipal status in 1909.
Culture and history infoOmaruru was established in 1863 by Wilhelm Zeraua, the first chief of the White Flag clan of the OvaHerero people. In 1871, Anders Ohlsson and Axel Eriksson established a brewery at Omaruru. Eriksson had also established a trading post, which flourished and by 1878 he employed about forty whites. Eriksson's business was based upon long-distance trading between southern Angola and Cape Colony, which necessitated the establishment of regional trade routes. The town grew around a mission built in 1872 by Gottlieb Viehe, now a museum, and was attacked in 1904 during the Herero and Namaqua Genocide. Franke Tower was later erected to commemorate the relief by Hauptmann Victor Franke 's troops of the local garrison that was beleaguered by Herero tribesmen who had risen against the German colonial presence. Legacy of von Trotha The descendants of Lothar von Trotha and the von Trotha family travelled to Omaruru in October 2007 by invitation of the royal Herero chiefs and publicly apologised for his role in the Herero Genocide. Member of the family Wolf-Thilo von Trotha: "We, the von Trotha family, are deeply ashamed of the terrible events that took place 100 years ago. Human rights were grossly abused that time